Thursday, November 3, 2011

The Countdown Begins...

With less than a week to go before the annual Victoria's Secret Fashion Show kicks off, chat forums are abuzz with speculation as to which models will make the final line-up for what is inarguably one of the most lucrative jobs for any model. The casting process for the coveted 30 or so spots that make up the show's cast is gruelling. got the inside scoop at a casting last week at the Victoria's Secret HQ, as models lined the hallways outside the casting room waiting for their opportunity to wow casting director John Pfeiffer and his team.

Josephine Skriver

Spotted at the casting were familiar faces Lily Donaldson, Emanuela de Paula, Constance Jablonski, Arelnis Sosa, Katsia Zingarevich, Maryna Linchuk and Shannan Click, all of whom have previously walked in the show. With only 10 to 15 spots up for grabs for Victoria's Secret newbies, the pressure was on for Britt Maren, Jourdan Dunn, Jasmine Tookes, Josephine Skriver, Alyssa Miller, Shanina Sheik, Elsa Hosk, Sui He, Frida Gustavsson, Anais Mali, Bregje Heinen and Juju Ivanyuk amongst others to impress.

Jourdan Dunn

Lily Donaldson

Constance Jablonski

Speaking with, John Pfeiffer shed light on the casting process, noting that "Just because a girl has walked before doesn't mean she'll walk again. Everything from their bodies to their overall look changes, so we have to see them again and again." Pfeiffer keeps an eye out for potential Victoria's Secret runway candidates throughout the year and has his radar firmly set on a number of faces, "Bregje (Heinen) is finally 18 so we were really excited to see her. Karlie (Kloss) is also of age this year, so hopefully she'll walk the show."

Bregje Heinen

Britt Maren

Jasmine Tookes

Candice Swanepoel, Miranda Kerr, Alessandra Ambrosio, Adriana Lima, Lily Aldridge, Chanel Iman, Behati Prinsloo, Doutzen Kroes, Lais Ribeiro, Izabel Goulart, Lindsay Ellington and Erin Heatherton have so far been confirmed for the show. In the meantime, I'm keeping my fingers crossed for hopefuls Toni Garrn, Melodie Monrose, Sui He, Jourdan Dunn, Karlie Kloss, Shanina Shaik, Chrishell Stubbs, Anais Mali and Milou Sluis.

Emanuela de Paula

Katsia Zingarevich

Juju Ivanyuk
Photographer for all images - Victoria Stevens
All images courtesy of

No comments:

Post a Comment